Casting Aside the Blue Curtain

I had c-sections with my two youngest girls. One emergency that I don’t remember very clearly, and another planned. One thing that stands out the most in my memories from both was the blue curtain.
I’m sure if you’ve ever seen a baby’s first photo after a c-section delivery you’ve been thankful for the presence of the blue curtain. It guards you from the surgical scene behind it.
Obviously it’s not there to make friends and family of the happy parents comfortable. You see, the curtain does the most amazing thing for the person that is wide awake while being cut open –it does something in your mind to distance you from the surgery. I’ve explained it as feeling completely separate from the trauma. I can’t see it, it doesn’t hurt – it’s far, far away. And in the midst of surgery that is a very good thing. If I could see what was happening I might very well have panicked or gone into shock.
I’ve come to recognize that when great disasters happen across the ocean or even across the country from where I am, I suffer from “blue curtain syndrome”. It’s far away. I know it’s happening, but because it is far away I detach in a way. It’s a form of self-preservation to leave the curtain of indifference in place: if I let myself truly take it all in, the pain just might be too much. I’ll have to do something. And quite often I don’t know what on earth I will do and so I am afraid to peak behind the curtain and feel all of the things I should feel when such suffering is inflicted on another human.
I watched a video today that yanked that curtain down for me concerning the disaster in Nepal. I still don’t know how to truly help (in a way that I can trust is an honest way) right now other than to pray for healing and protection for the people of Napal and those that are trying to get help to them.
This video is about 7 minutes long and worth every second of your time. I don’t understand the words the men are shouting, but oh—-I understand them completely. The joy, the surprise, the panic, the desperation, the triumph—-I don’t know many that wouldn’t feel everything they did as they worked to pull this baby from the rubble. The way the baby rubs his sweet little face is so like something my own children did when they were babies that my heart just aches watching it.
One more thought about this miraculous moment: It makes no sense that this baby is alive. None. Only by the grace and protection of God Almighty could an infant survive for this many days in that rubble. Only God. I underestimate Him always and am in awe of His majesty and power every time He lets me catch but a glimpse of HImself.

Baby Rescued in Nepal

Leave a Reply

