Heaped With Snow…

It was one of those mornings where Mama needed out. 

My reasons for being grumpy were silly: I got up very early to allow myself time to be in God’s Word. There is something so wonderful about being alone in the quiet– just me, my Bible, my coffee, and the heater. But…my kids must have heard my eyelids flutter open. All three girls wandered into the living room just as I settled in with my coffee.

I handed over my blankets and read as much as I could while blocking out their “teamwork” puzzle solving. I gave up, turned on a cartoon and we snuggled in. But an hour later, still frustrated that I was only able to read a teensy bit, I decided we better take a walk.  I needed to get out of the house and walk and walk and walk until whatever grumpy train had come into my heart was driven out of the station. Anybody else? So I bundled up the girls and we walked through the slippery winter wonderland that is currently our neighborhood. I smiled at Halloween decorations left up atone house, Thanksgiving decorations proudly displayed for the season on the next porch, and even Christmas lights intermingled throughout different homes on the street. Amazing how something so simple worked wonders on my attitude.

Or maybe it was the way the snow encrusted land reminded me of one of my very favorite moments in my latest book, The Heavens Are Telling.

Books do that to readers;–interrupt our thoughts, invade our hearts. They also do that to the author – the characters and their lives creep back into your life and insist that you revisit them. I want to share that scene with you now, along with a few pictures from our walk:

20141119_095239 20141119_093601-1 20141119_094126 20141119_094144 20141119_094114

Simon’s passionate torrent slowed, but his words still came steady and sure. “God says, ‘For as the rain and snow come down from heaven, and do not return there without watering the earth and making it bear and sprout, and furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so My word be which goes forth from my mouth; it will not return to me empty, without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.’ Your father was wise to cover you in the words of God, Vireak.”

Without shame, tears streaked Vireak’s face. To hear the word of God again was a balm after the years of it echoing and resounding in his heart and mind, ricocheting in the confused recesses of his young mind. As Simon spoke, words rooted themselves further into Vireak’s heart and he remembered.

Oh, how he remembered the Way of Salvation, and of Jesus Christ who offers hope to the sinner.

Vireak trembled in the shame and guilt of his sin. “Simon, I fear that my soul has become frozen from years of neglect and misuse. What can grow from my heart but thistles and thorns?”

Simon clapped a hand on Vireak’s shoulder. “In the winter snow piles up, seemingly useless on frozen earth. It’s when the soil thaws that the snow melts and soaks in, working its purpose. Don’t loose heart, Vireak. The Word of God has been heaped on you, but it is not dead. You are just beginning to thaw. The crop will come.”

10492230_10154288138490338_5196811349736733305_n

 

B.D. Riehl is the award winning author of The Earth is Full and The Heavens Are Telling.

cropped-earthisfullcoverebook_10.jpeg TheHeavensAreTellingFront_0300

Leave a Reply

