Meet Nataya

I am ashamed and appalled that it has been two months since I last posted to this blog. I could say that it’s been a rough summer, that the moving decision continued to plague us, that I had surgery earlier this month, that my beloved Grandpa died, that my family has been stressed, and that I’ve spent most of the summer making changes to book two. But I won’t. I will simply say, “I’m back and I have plenty to say.” Aren’t you lucky? 😉
If you follow me on Facebook and Instagram, then you know that we are less than two weeks away from releasing my new book, The Heavens are Telling, for the pre-reader program. I am excited and ready to share this story with you!
Because I just can’t wait, I decided to sneak you samples of the book. Today, I want to introduce you to Nataya. You might remember her from the first book. This story begins as a prequel of sorts to The Earth is Full. So, without further ado…

“Nataya gripped Donny’s hand. Her heart pounded in her ears. She longed to look back, to see who followed, see if she would recognize one of Lok Lee’s bouncers in the crowded street behind them, but she didn’t dare. Donny squeezed her hand and wiped his glistening brow with his other hand. They looked like any other couple strolling through Walking Street: a young, scantily clad Thai girl with long black-and-blond-streaked hair on the arm of an older man with a slight pooch in his middle and a nervous twitch to his eye. She observed girls with downcast eyes, men with eyes averted; dozens of them marched up and down the wide-paved street.
Could it be true that she would never again be one of those girls, pretending to enjoy the affections of paying men because her life depended on it?
Flashing neon lights and bass heavy music pulsated around them. Donny glanced at her once, eyes reassuring, before he shoved her without warning into a narrow alley.
Nataya gasped in fear and shock, trembling.

Had they seen?”

Excerpt from the Heavens Are Telling, scheduled for release October 2014

22848257

Also look for The Earth is Full, available here.

EarthIsFullCoverEBook_10

 

Leave a Reply

