Listening Ears

I’ve started this post a few times and it’s not coming out right. So I’m just going to say it outright: I serve a God who hears. Who listens. To the big things. To the little things. He intimately cares about His people. He intimately cares about you.

I’m not saying that God gives us every desire. I am saying He listens and cares enough to show that He hears. He sees. He knows. I am amazed by His manner with me.

I have been struggling to finish the second book in my series while putting my family first. So often I turn on the computer, ready to pound out a chapter or two, and something comes up. So often I plan to put the kids to bed for the night and write for the rest of the evening…but dirty dishes call to be taken care of, laundry wants some love and attention…soon I’m too exhausted to connect plot lines.

When Mr. Riehl’s work schedule changed to our least favorite option, I was discouraged. In my whiny little heart I thought, there go my chances of finishing this book anytime soon! How quickly I forget that the Lord called me to this and He will provide a way.

Mr. Riehl and I realized this week that his schedule has created an opportunity for me to stay in town and write while Little Miss is in school two days a week. It sounds so simple, but it is a huge answer to the wrestling in my schedule over this work — I could just burst! The little girls get to stay home, sleep in, and spend quality time with Daddy; I get to write for four hours uninterrupted.

Why do I doubt Him? Time and again I have seen the Lord work on my behalf. On my husband’s behalf. On behalf of people that don’t know Him.

Not for us. For Him. For His glory. He is a God of promises that remain true. He is solid, constant.

The Lord impressed upon me to write years ago. It has always been a form of worship for me. If I am not walking with the Lord, if I am not aligning myself with His precepts, His Word, the words don’t come. The lack of time to write began to crush my spirit. It felt like discipline. But the words were there, and the discipline was learning to wait and trust and hope.

The realization we had over our schedule this week seems minor. But to me it’s a tender nudge from my Savior. Come and worship, He calls. I’ve made time.

This morning I was able to do just that. Before I began my time of writing, Little Miss’ school had open worship assembly. One song has stayed with me all day:

Worthy is the, Lamb who was slain
Holy, Holy, is He
Sing a new song, to him who sits on
Heaven’s mercy seat

Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing
Praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything
And I will adore You

Clothed in rainbows, of living color
Flashes of lightning, rolls of thunder
Blessing and honor, strength and glory and power be
to You the only wise King

Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing
Praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything
And I will adore You

Filled with wonder, awestruck wonder
At the mention of your name
Jesus your name is power
Breath, and living water
Such a marvelous mystery
Yeah…

Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come, yeah
With all creation I sing
Praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything
And I will adore You

2 thoughts on “Listening Ears

  1. Why do we ever doubt? Thanks for the timely reminder that God truly knows what we need, and we can trust Him. (So cool that they sang the same song we sang in church Sunday—as we sang I was overcome with the beauty of saints and angels and rainbows and thunder and color and light, all creation dedicated to worshiping the One who was and is and is to come and is forever worthy of our praise!)

    Nothing He does is minor. Everything He does serves to show His beauty all the more clearly. Even giving you a schedule you had not hoped for because it was so very much better. How good of Him to help you see this, another proof of His smiles on you and this worthy gift you are offering to Him in faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

