What More Can He Do?

My poor husband. He was a man who came into my life after a series of bad decisions that mostly involved poor relationship choices. The wounds ran deep and for years, he’s been kind enough to be patient with my heart. The heart that loved a couple of men it shouldn’t have. A heart that was shattered over and over by the mistreatment of those men.

It was a rough start to our relationship. I was like an abused shelter dog: spooked, tail tucked between my legs, just waiting and expecting to be mistreated. Mr. Riehl hung in there, and waited patiently while the Lord restored me. For a long time, in the beginning of our marriage, that gal would up and say silly things like, “I just wish you would say you loved me more…” Sheesh. Poor husband. In response, he would throw up his hands, exasperated, and say, “I’m here! How else can I show you?”

Anyone else have discussions like this? Eventually, I did see the love expressed by him over and over simply in his daily presence.

The other morning, I was reading the Word and working through some thoughts in my journal. Questions, frustrations. I was in a bit of a funk. I believe I ended the morning with a prayer that said something, like, “Lord, I just need to understand You love me. I want to know this love of Yours. Could You show me?”

Sounds a little self-absorbed, I realize. But I’m trying to be real, here.

My heart was just heavy that morning and I continued to pray and ponder throughout the day. These verses were part of my study, but it took me all day to connect them:

“Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. Being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” Philippians 2:5-8

It finally hit me: What More Can He Do? I mean, really? God humbled Himself as a man, died a humiliating, painful, despicable death, and took all of my sin on Himself…for my sake. He did do all of that to say I was alright. No, He did all that to say, “I love you. I love you so dearly that I will do whatever it takes to assure your salvation and place with me in eternity.”

I can’t add to that, really. Nothing profound, but it was a reminder I needed and I wanted to pass it on to anyone else who might need it today. If you are desperate for a sign or confirmation that you are valued, loved, important, and worthwhile, look no further than Christ and all that He chose to accomplish for your sake.

Leave a Reply

